The San Leandro Police Department will accept online reports of hit and run vehicle collisions when there is no suspect information available and no one is injured as a result of the collision.
Example: Your car was parked unattended and an unknown driver/vehicle hit your car and didn’t leave a note, or a vehicle hit your car and then fled without stopping to exchange information before you could get a license plate number.
If this just occurred (in less than 5 minutes) and you are aware of the individual who hit your vehicle or have a license plate number of the suspect's vehicle that caused damage to your vehicle and this just occurred, dial 9-1-1 immediately to report this incident.
If more than 10 minutes have passed since the damage occurred and you know the individual who hit your vehicle or you have a license plate number of the suspect's vehicle that caused damage to you vehicle, please call (510) 577-2740.
If you have sustained any type of injury, please call 9-1-1 immediately and do not complete an online report.
NOTE: Section 16000 of the California Vehicle Code
The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in damage to the property of any ONE party in excess of $750 or in the injury or death of any person must submit a SR-1 Form to the California Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days, or as soon as possible. Failure to comply may result in suspension of your driver’s license. Law enforcement reports DO NOT satisfy the DMV reporting requirement. Form SR-1 may be obtained from the Department of Motor Vehicles website at www.dmv.ca.gov.